Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Change a single note on a reed plate?

Change a single note on a reed plate? 1 month 3 weeks ago #14600

Hi,

First post here, and a question about customizing a reed plate. I'm tasked with playing a song that has one run that is very memorable, featuring a half-step sequence that simply can't be played on any standard harmonica. B and Db harmonicas come close, but they lack crucial notes in the run. I'm looking to take one reed up a half-step (B harp) or down a half-step (Db harp), but I don't know if that's even possible.

I'm a brass tech, and I have a few older Hohner harmonicas that I can use for spare reeds. I've tried customizing some cheap harps made by Johnson, ($6.00 apiece, and better than a lot of cheap name-brand stuff) but their reeds are drilled off-center, so I can't get the Hohner reeds to fit. I tried soldering a new reed to the plate, but the results were not right. I also tried:

1) Starting with a reed designed to play the correct note-in which case, once it was attached to the reed plate, the note changed.

2) Starting with a longer reed and removing metal--in which case the note got higher by a few cents each time, then suddenly jumped up drastically.

3) Shortening the reed and soldering in shim stock to close off the gap left behind--with similar results to the above.

I guess I could try mixing top and bottom reed plates to yield the right notes, or buying a Melodica which is what was used on the original recording, or learning to play the song on a chromatic harp, but I'm stubborn. Has anyone at the hobbyist level been successful at changing a single note on a reed plate?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Change a single note on a reed plate? 1 month 3 weeks ago #14601