Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Jazz Harmonica.

Jazz Harmonica. 1 year 7 months ago #2882

• Lithy
Sorry everyone. Originally put this topic in the wrong subject matter "Tab request". Thought I might get more response here. Thanks. Lithy.

"Hi everyone.

I want to branch out into Jazz. I have purchased a Hohner Chromonica 270.

I was hoping one or more of you could head me in the right direction of where to start in regard to good learning books/DVD's beginners through to advanced."

Cheers.

Lithy.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Jazz Harmonica. 1 year 6 months ago #2933

• Eric33
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 57
Hi Lithy, I gather your harmonica is a 12 hole chromatic.A perfect start.I want to welcome you to the website,I see that no one has replied to your Jazz Harmonica Topic so I thought that someone should.You will see from my profile that I have been playing a Chromatic for quite a few years now. You don't say whether or not you can read music.
I would first advise you to get a Chromatic Chart,you will find this very useful.The next thing is to try to obtain a booklet or magazine by Tommy Riley with a CD inside teaching you step by step on how to play the Harmonica.I am sure there are others of a similar nature where you are.Inthe meantime if I can help you in any way,you know where to find me.Eric33.

Jazz Harmonica. 1 year 6 months ago #2934

• Crawforde
  • Elite Member
  • Thank you received: 14
Regarding the chromatic chart you can find an interactive one online here:
www.overblow.com/?menuid=26&type=chrom#
Highlight the key of your instrument on the far left and it will map out your holes for you. Chose another key and it will show you the pattern to play whichever scale you choose. It is a pretty nice tool!

Jazz Harmonica. 1 year 6 months ago #2935

• Lithy
Hi Eric33.

Thanks for your reply and a thank you for welcoming me to the website.